China Jubilee

Just another WordPress.com weblog

First Flower (and other goings-on) April 29, 2008

Filed under: Apartment,Life,School — missjubilee @ 9:21 pm
Tags: , , ,

The bud of the first flower showed up yesterday morning!

It’s on one of the pea plants, which have really shot up, but for the most part insist on tangling their runners with each other instead of climbing directly on the bars. Thankfully this one tendril has a good grip to support its tiny bud. Yesterday evening I noticed several more buds on other plants. I hope they haven’t stopped going up just because they have flowers – they’re still pretty small! Perhaps I need to put up some more convenient twine where they’re not close enough to the bars and force them to climb, or perhaps they’re just reacting to the shallow soil by staying short (hope not!). In any case, I’m happy to see the flowers.

Thursday is Labor Day here (and in Australia… and perhaps elsewhere, I suppose, but not in America). It used to be a week-long holiday with two “makeup days”; this year there are two or three other small holidays and Labor Day only merits three days off (two of which I normally teach), followed by makeup classes Sunday. Why? I really have no idea, since in the end that means I only get two days off and have to miss my regular Sunday activities. (Of course, so does everyone else.) Why not just work one more day and then have two days off? Well, that would be Western, I guess, and perhaps someday I’ll understand the Chinese mindset enough to fathom the reason for this practice. Maybe it’s like if I want time off from something I do privately, and so I do lots of it ahead of time or leave it till later and quickly catch up… beats me. It happens in October for the National Day holiday, too – like spring and fall breaks, except that you don’t get the surrounding weekends off, just the week!

Anyway, I’m looking forward to the break.

Tomorrow (my normal day off), I’m going to help Sandy with a project for the new branch of her English studio. Apparently I’m going to be interviewed, on camera, pretending to be someone famous. How geeky am I that the only famous female I could think of that I know enough about to impersonate is J. K. Rowling? Ignoring the fact that I’m 15 years younger, have dark hair, and the wrong accent…. But I haven’t been keeping up on the news about her lately, so tonight I’m doing a little cramming and wondering how much research my interviewer will have done – probably he’ll just have seen the movies, not even read the books, but I don’t want to be unprepared if it turns out to be a fan or someone who enjoys research. Too bad the only thing she’s in the news much for these days is a nasty trial over some fan publication – whether it’s she or the fan who are painted as a greedy jerk by the commentator of the moment, there’s enough mud being slung by everybody with a voice that it’s making both sides grimy, which is why I’ve been trying to stay away from Rowling-related news lately. Well, and I have enough else in my life.

No big plans for the rest of the break, though there might be a picnic Saturday morning. I’ll just enjoy being free, and perhaps grade some papers. I’m not going to travel during this time – I don’t want to be part of the crowds, even if it is the best time to go look at flowers wherever they’re blooming in large numbers!

 

Leave a Reply

