China Jubilee

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Glute-Free Banana Bread April 2, 2012

Filed under: Cooking — missjubilee @ 12:00 pm

I made some GF Banana Bread on Sunday morning.  The original recipe, posted by Jo-Lynne at Musings of a Housewife, makes 2 loaves.  I wrote it down for ONE loaf, and that’s what I’ve posted below.  But I actually did end up making double this recipe to get two loaves this first time – I realized it was silly to make 1 loaf GF and 1 loaf with regular flour when (a) GF is healthier for everyone and (b) there was plenty of other work to do, and I didn’t need to spend what limited time I had in making two different recipes.  It turned out well; my thoughts at the end.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

Preheat oven to 375F.  Grease and flour a loaf pan.

2 eggs
beat lightly

2 ripe bananas
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup peach butter (subbed for applesauce)
1/2 tsp vanilla
beat in with the eggs

3/4 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup almond flour
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder*
(1/2 tsp guar gum*)
1/4 tsp salt
mix into the wet ingredients until moist

1/6 cup melted butter
fold into the rest

Pour batter into prepared pan.
Sprinkle with freshly grated nutmeg.
Bake 30-45 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. (my oven cooks really quickly)
Cool 10 minutes in the pan, then remove to a rack to cool completely.

*the recipe didn’t call for baking powder or guar gum, but the bread was pretty flat, so I think next time I’ll try adding at least the powder and possibly the gum.

Reflections:

I also want to try sweet rice flour and buckwheat flour in place of the almond flour.
I loved the texture of this!  It has a little bit of the graininess that cornbread has, a little crunch, and it’s lovely!
I have now used up my peach butter, making GF breads last week and this week.  Gasp!  Tragedy.  I think these GF recipe makers are too healthy-minded.  Just call for oil, ya’ll; I’m already earning my “health” brownie points by going to the trouble to leave out the gluten.  Fruit sauces/butters are precious things when you have to prepare and can your own!!!
I’d like to buy some coconut oil and try it with that, as the original recipe calls for.

 

Leave a Reply

