China Jubilee

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Happy Square Day May 25, 2012

Filed under: Cooking,Life,School — missjubilee @ 10:01 pm

Did you know today is a square day? I just made up that term this morning, though I’m sure I’m not the first. 5-25, don’t you see? 🙂 Anywho, I wanted to share something less mathematical but I wanted to start with that.

Oh, and I found what I want in my Christmas stocking for the rest of my life (or at least until I find another favorite candy.) These little jewels of dark-chocolate-covered almonds. DE-lish!

20120525-204612.jpg

OK, on to the topic I wanted to focus on! Just today I taught my Social Studies class about the oft-inseparable pairing of rights and responsibilities. The best example I think was that of dinner: They lack the right to choose the menu most nights (with one particular family as an exception) but they also lack the responsibility to make or buy the dinner. Their parents and I, their single teacher, have that right but also the attendant responsibility.

So when I got home off the five o’clock bus, what do you think came to mind? Yeah, little cooked food in the house, I’ve been eating very few vegetables lately, I just bought some chunks of beef yesterday… Time to buy veg and cook dinner instead of making ramen or frozen dumplings or boxed mac & cheese, or worse, just eating junk food. Like a responsible adult. Oy. If I hadn’t just taught that lesson I probably would have eaten dinner a lot more quickly, but my body – including my taste buds, which have been over saturated with sweets lately – is thanking me for making the right choice.

Here’s the main dish I put together. The only accompaniment was a rice cooker of 1 cup white mixed with 1/2 cup brown rice.

Olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 large onion, chopped
Then
2/3 lb (300 g) beef, cut into bite-sized pieces
More oil (my wok isn’t non-stick anymore!)
Once the outside of the beef was browned, I added
drizzle of sesame oil
1 eggplant, chopped into large pieces
1 zucchini, ditto
a handful of green beans, also ditto
1 small tomato, again ditto
1 small can tomato paste
about 2/3 cup or 1 cup water
This all cooked, covered, on medium heat until I was ready to eat it (10 min? longer?) along with approximately
1.5 tsp salt
1 tsp black pepper
several good shakes of Italian Seasoning blend

Then I simply scooped out about 1/4-1/3 of it onto a bowl of rice and sprinkled with
Parmesan cheese

SO good! Sadly no photo till I got ready to type this, after doing the dishes and putting leftovers away, so it’s not so great to look at.  I’ll have to get a photo when I heat up a dish of leftovers…

 

Leave a Reply

