China Jubilee

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Re-reads September 4, 2012

Filed under: Life — missjubilee @ 8:06 pm

Some people I know never read a book twice.  Or never watch a movie a second time.  I would guess they still listen to albums they enjoy multiple times, eat at good restaurants repeatedly, and have favorite places or walks or even topics of conversation to revisit.  (For me, the negative in that list is “walks.”  If I’m not going somewhere, why am I walking? Well, unless it’s to spend time with a friend.  Now, find me a place to live with few lights and clear skies, and I would have a favorite EVENING walk, but at this point I’m getting a titch off-topic.)

I was thinking as I heated up my dinner how there are some books I have not only enjoyed more than once, but would take off the bookshelf in a heartbeat if I had the time and was in the mood for that particular style of story.  These are the books I’ve read at least three times or more (unless it’s been under five years since I first read them).  They are the books I would pack first if I were moving overseas.  Most are fiction because that’s how I relax.  So I thought I’d list a few, and see how people respond.  I’d love to read posts of a few friends’ favorite re-reads, if you are so inclined!  Disclaimer: these are not all great literature, nor are they all written for adults, but they’re what I enjoy!  In no particular order except that the children’s books are at the end…

  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Mere Christianity by C. S. Lewis (also Out of the Silent Planet and the Narnia books)
  • Hind’s Feet on High Places by Hannah Hurnard
  • With New Eyes by Margaret Becker
  • The Blue Day Book by Bradley Trevor Greive
  • Ruth (my favorite book of the Bible, though I’ve also read the whole Bible several times cover to cover and the books I’ve read most often are the Gospels)
  • Trickster’s Choice/Trickster’s Queen by Tamora Pierce
  • The Hunt for Red October by Tom Clancy (also The Cardinal of the Cremlin and Red Rabbit, though Red October is definitely #1)
  • the second half of Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer (I skip right from the wedding to the birth – I will never read the pregnancy part a second time and wish I could erase it from my memory.)
  • Going Postal by Terry Pratchett (also Hogfather)
  • The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien (and The Lord of the Rings, though to be honest I may have only read these twice in the dozen years since I was introduced to them)
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (or Ender’s Shadow though it’s a distant second)
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling (also the Prisoner of Azkaban and selections of the others)
  • Sorcery and Cecelia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot: being the correspondence of two Young Ladies of Quality regarding various Magical Scandals in London and the Country by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer (the title alone is almost enough to make it a favorite, as is the actual method of its writing – by the two authors corresponding!)
  • Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
  • Beauty by Robin McKinley
  • Socks by Beverly Cleary
  • Frindle by Andrew Clements (also The School Story)
  • Time of Wonder by Robert McCloskey (and Make Way for Ducklings)

I’m going to stop here because I have too many favorite picture books and authors/illustrators of them to possibly list them all!  I’m so blessed to teach and thus be able to read many of them aloud to my students each year.

Also, there were two young-adult series I read in the last couple years that I deeply enjoyed – the Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner and the Enola Holmes series by Nancy Springer – and a couple of stand-alones that may also join this list: The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt and Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George.  I don’t feel certain of that, though; only time will tell!

(PS: Tonight’s particular impulse was the Trickster books, though I’m nearing the end of Ender in Exile on MP3 from this weekend, so once I have some time not filled with work or homework, Ender is what I’ll be reading!)

 

2 Responses to “Re-reads”

  1. Warren M. Says:

    So here are some of mine:

    To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
    Gilead by Marilyn Robinson (Highly recommend)
    The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
    The Little Prince by Antoine St.-Exupery
    Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie
    Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan
    The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo

    I would say something by Dickens or Steinbeck, but I don’t think I’ve ever re-read a book by either one. Just thoroughly enjoyed them.

    • missjubilee Says:

      Oh, yes, To Kill a Mockingbird should be on my list as well! Love it 🙂
      I’ll have to give Gilead a try. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of it.
      ~L


Leave a Reply

