China Jubilee

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Be at rest once more, O my soul June 26, 2014

Filed under: Life — missjubilee @ 11:54 am

“Be at rest once more, O my soul, for the LORD has been good to you!…
I will sacrifice a thank offering to you and call on the name of the LORD.
I will fulfill my vows to the LORD in the presence of all his people,
in the courts of the house of the LORD – in your midst, O Jerusalem.
Prase the LORD.” (Psalm 116:7, 17-19)

I’m a week and a half into my job search. It’s one of those things in life that you enter with no idea how long it will take to “complete” because it’s not just up to you.  (Come to think of it, in that way it’s similar to the desire to be married – except that at least there are straight-forward ways to “put yourself out there,” network, and negotiate a new job quickly once you find it, whereas the process of finding a spouse is so much tougher to navigate!)  You don’t want to read all the places I’ve tried and responses I’ve gotten or am still waiting to get, and I don’t want to go back over them for that matter.  Job hunting is one of my least favorite things to do, within the realm of my current experience, but I want to focus on TRUST, and resting in what God has done, what he has said he will do, and Who he is in my life.

“Be at rest once more, O my soul, for the LORD has been good to you!”

I want this to be my verse for the job hunt.  He has done so much just in this transition, in addition to all he’s done before in my life, and in addition to his great works of salvation and sanctification in my life.

:Realizing that I’m a more qualified, experienced job hunter than last time I sought a job in the US right out of college and then right after being fired from my first job. It’s funny to actually feel like I’m competent at some things.
:Safe flight and luggage all arriving without extra luggage fees
:Comfortable, familiar, and convenient place to stay until I find that job (the house where I grew up)
:Time with family, one-on-one and together
:Generous amount of money in the bank. I am quite capable of spending it WAY too easily and quickly, but I’m trying to be careful and not immediately go out and replace everything I parted with in Qingdao before moving back, nor grab at every special-to-this-location experience such as egg rolls, movies, or Busch Gardens
:Able to give joyfully to various places, thanks to the aforementioned money in the bank
:Car to drive, generally in good shape, and money to rent my dream car (Prius) for a road trip in July
:Plans to see people from fellowship and honor a friend’s wedding on that road trip in July
:Technology to stay connected with friends who are traveling for the summer or still in China, including what I *think* is a good cell plan
:Various international interactions – a party with people who live internationally, a weekly outreach to international students who are working at the beach for the summer, weekly prayer and hearing reports from missionaries,… even just checking that the food is gluten free for mom in Chinese and having the waitress easily switch languages with me, somehow that made me even happier than when people stop to exclaim over my language abilities. J (Plus it was almost like real Chinese food, not just American Chinese food – I’m grateful to the friend of a friend at the party who recommended this new place!)
:And best of all, supportive people – Michelle J, Eric W, Joan C, Beth F & others in that group, my family, and maybe a new friend or two.

“I will sacrifice a thank offering to you and… fulfill my vows to the LORD in the presence of all his people,…” When I first read this I thought, “When I finish my job hunt, that’s what I will surely do!” But reflecting back on verse 7 and how the Lord has been good to me, I want to thank him NOW before others!  God, you are so overwhelmingly good to me!  My soul CAN rest in you for the future without worry, because I have seen your generous blessing and guidance in my life as well as in the lives of others* and in your Word.

*Footnote: I’ve been reading “Goforth of China,” and I highly recommend it! It had me crying on the plane in conviction and joy, and standing in awe of what God can and will do through one life to touch tens and hundreds of thousands, and how he worked mightily in China ten or eleven decades ago.

 

Leave a Reply

