China Jubilee

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Press On September 8, 2014

Filed under: Faith,Life — missjubilee @ 8:14 am

“I see this world through my jaded eyes.
I get frustrated when there is no why.
I put my focus on worthless things.
Even the strong fall to their knees; God only knows what we all need.
I am a mess, I am a wrecking ball. I must confess that I still don’t get it all.
Lord, I believe that all your words are true.
Doesn’t matter where I’m going if I’m going with you.
Life goes on, life goes on, but your love will prove
All I need, all I need, I will find in you.
I press on, I press on, I press on when I still don’t get it all. I press on.”

from “Press On,” Building 429

The other day this was perfect. I’d come up against brick wall after frustration after bureaucratic ma fan, and actually let myself shed a few tears before putting the car in gear and pulling out of the parking lot.  The radio was on, and this song played on the short drive home – and I felt more tears, this time of gratitude and thanksgiving that I am known so well, and that God would encourage me at that moment.

Psalm 131 A Song of Ascents. Of David. “O LORD, my heart is not lifted up; my eyes are not raised too high; I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me. But I have calmed and quieted my soul, like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child is my soul within me. O Israel, hope in the LORD from this time forth and forevermore.”

As a weaned child who does not understand why his mother has withdrawn his comfortable ritual, but still finds comfort and love in her arms – so I am calmed and reassured in the arms of God when “there is no why” to what’s going on around me.

 

Leave a Reply

