China Jubilee

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Fresh Beginning December 16, 2014

Filed under: Craft — missjubilee @ 9:36 pm

Since I just finished a quilt, you’d think I’d take a break. But no, I quickly started on one I’ve been collecting fabric for since last … spring? Maybe even last winter.

20130908-184256.jpg

Hm, the date on that photo is last September! Wow, it’s been a while. Those navy-and-white prints in the foreground are the centerpiece of the project, while yellows and reds are thrown in for a little extra pop. I love the Chinese blue and white fabric prints, which for some reason feel like batik to me even though I’m pretty sure they’re just plain printed.  They’re a little heavier than quilting cotton, but I’m not too picky in my fabric weights – I’ll take what I can get after living in a place where quilting is unheard of and most cottons are pre-printed with huge 2-meter designs for bed sheets. 🙂

My stash for this quilt has grown quite a bit since the above photo – I probably have 30 “fat quarter” equivalents.  Equivalents?  Well, only dozen or fewer were actually produced as fat quarters in the West, while the rest were cut that size by yours truly after buying a half-meter in the fabric market in the East, or swapped with a quilting friend for the other halves of those half-meters, or cut off old blouses and a skirt just before I moved across an ocean,… Or just plain left over from past projects, though that is admittedly a smaller portion.  There are also another 15-20 or more pieces that aren’t fat quarters but have plenty of usable fabric. In other words, more than enough for one bed-sized quilt/duvet cover!

IMG_2924
The white square with embroidered butterfly and flower was once part of the front embellishment of a blouse that was super cute but totally un-fitted. You can’t add darts to something with a garden across the stomach, so eventually I stopped wearing it. More stories are hidden in these squares as well!

I cut out pieces for two quilt blocks following the Virtual Quilting Bee that Diary of a Quilter hosted a couple years ago, and the first one is now sewn up and ironed out. My first properly pieced block for a full-sized quilt top! (So far I’ve only pieced smaller quilted items, and used crazy-patch for the lap-sized and queen-sized quilt tops I’ve made.)

IMG_2929

I was impressed by the technique that Sherri from A Quilting Life documented in her photo-filled directions for the first square of the quilting bee – put the two squares of fabric together, draw a line down the middle of the top (lighter) one, and sew on both sides of that line (that is, parallel to it). Then just cut down the middle and you’ve got two sets of joined triangles, ready to iron!

IMG_2933
laying out the pieces – I did swap a few around before settling on this layout

IMG_2934
all sewn together and the seams ironed flat

IMG_2936
Ta da! First quilt square finished.

This post is shared on My Quilt Infatuation’s “Needle ‘n’ Thread Thursday.”

 

Leave a Reply

